Backpack Tether Accessory For Devices
 
 
 
 
 
(33)

GARMIN Backpack Tether Accessory For Devices

Price: BCD5View this productLogin to leave a review
Backpack Tether Accessory For Devices
4.24242401123047 33

Product Reviews:

Very convenient way to carry your GPS unit.
by Valued Customer - August 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

So you're on a hike and recording your track, and need to check your GPS device regularly to enter waypoints etc. Where to keep your GPS unit? In your pocket, or even a belt clip, your body can block the signal some of the time. The top pocket of your backpack works fine, but not if you need to get at the unit regularly.This device secures to a shoulder strap on your backpack. This places it high on your body for relatively unobstructed GPS signals. It is detached and reattached by a simple hook-and-loop patch. Super convenient.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I Like it
by Valued Customer - July 31, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I am a trail runner. This stayed in place on my camelback. I am also a search and rescue member. This can attach almost anywhere. Sure the string will stick to the Velcro, but big deal. Worked for me.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Good idea but pad detaches from holder when it's hot.
by Valued Customer - July 31, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works well enough, but the Velcro pad on the part that attaches to the GPS comes off when it's hot outside.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This can easily be fixed with some superglue to reduce the likelihood
by Valued Customer - July 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Fully functional. The down sides are that the tether sticks to the velcro and the velcro tends to separate from the mounting faces. This can easily be fixed with some superglue to reduce the likelihood of the whole thing detaching. It would have been better if I could attach the tether directly to my GPS device (there is an eye hole for it, but it isn't big enough for the end of the provided tether to fit through).

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Would be nice if could use with molle strapping systems
by Valued Customer - June 28, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works well with backpacks and fanny packs. Would be nice if could use with molle strapping systems

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great holster that makes your GPS easily accesible.
by Valued Customer - June 24, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Haven't actually hiked with it yet however I have attached it to my pack and set it up to where it is comfortable. It seems to attach and detach easily and when attached seems to be sturdy. It appears to be well constructed and should hopefully offer years of good backpacking use. If I find it to be any other way I will update this review.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Works as intended with a few modifications
by Valued Customer - June 20, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I like my Garmin 650t and needed a better way to carry the GPS while backpacking. I moved away from a cell phone based GPS system and back to a dedicated and much larger form factor when compared to the iPhone 5s that I was using. Didn't like the hanging and bouncing of the carabiner when attached to my backpack strap. This GPS mount has two flaws that needed to be addressed, first the tether cord needs to be cut off and replaced with more durable cordage. I use a thin diameter Amsteel cordage. Second is the Velcro that holds the GPS portion of the mount to the backpack strap mount, the one I received had the Velcro falling off and needed to be re-glued immediately out of the box. When mounted to my Hill Peaple Gear backpack harness this mount is secure with very little movement. The ability to quickly remove and replace the GPS works perfectly while on the move or when showing hiking partners a detail on the GPS. With a couple of modifications this is a nice alternative for GPS carry when compared to pocket carry or the supplied carabiner.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - June 14, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works out great on my backpack strap

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Secure
by Valued Customer - May 27, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Securely fits my GPS and allows me to attach it to many different packs. Keeps my GPS hand at the ready to check my position or to find the cache.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Very helpful
by Valued Customer - May 24, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Very helpful, but keep the Velcro clean. I swapped out the cord for a stronger one.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - April 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Excellent

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Been on 30 hikes now and keeps my GPS out of the way but easy to get to
by Valued Customer - March 24, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This works very well. Been on 30 hikes now and keeps my GPS out of the way but easy to get to. The backing that is glued to the detachable clip came off yesterday. Will have to see if it comes off again.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great accessory for Garmin eTrex gps units
by Valued Customer - March 03, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great accessory for Garmin eTrex gps units. Only thing I don't like about it is the tether itself. It's a low quality synthetic (nylon?) cord, and has a tendency to get stuck to the velcro. I will probably replace it with some paracord or a coiled elastic tether.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
As others stated, the cord gets caught and frayed
by Valued Customer - February 22, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

As others stated, the cord gets caught and frayed. I'll replace mine with paracord. However, given that this is for a $500 satellite tracker for back country excursions, this should come with a ready to go cord, not something I have to immediately beef up.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
My poor experience with the plastic tether adjustment button same as
by Valued Customer - February 07, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

My poor experience with the plastic tether adjustment button same as many other reviewers going back many years. First shipment arrived with the broken parts in the box. Returned (at Amazon expense) and re-ordered, this time paying slightly more to get a unit sold directly by Amazon. But same issue � arrive broken, the spring loose in the box, but the round plastic adjustment piece wasn't even in the box � implies it was broken and missing when packed at the manufacturer. Poor quality control by Garmin supplier. As others have suggested � plan on tossing the cord, make your own.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best Backpack Attachment on the Market
by Valued Customer - February 04, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great attachment for Inreach (works with either model) to backpack straps. Works well with Osprey / Deuter / Gossamer sized shoulder straps. Cord between ""base"" and unit ensures you cannot drop the GPS or have it fall off accidentally. Gives the antenna a good vertical alignment to sky. The velcro on these units works very well; not sure why other users have difficulty. I have racked up 50 miles of backpacking with this in three weeks and would HIGHLY recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Simple and Easy!
by Valued Customer - January 24, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Exactly as described, it will work great for a place to keep my Handheld GPS while hiking!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
and the velcro straps that hold it to your pack strap aren't that great. I wouldn't buy it again
by Valued Customer - December 25, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

It's a bit awkward to use, and the velcro straps that hold it to your pack strap aren't that great. I wouldn't buy it again.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Tether cord and drum cord lock of poor quality.
by Valued Customer - December 23, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

The Backpack Tether arrived in Garmin's box; after opening the box I tipped the tether out and noticed that a small black button fell out which I later determined was attached to the center post of the drum cord lock used to adjust the tether line. It's cord lock is defective. So, do I send it back to Amazon at my cost for shipping when the unit was only $20, or do I try to obtain a drum cord lock from Garmin? Neither! Cut the cord, throw if way, its of poor quality and it sticks/interferes with the velcro platform which affixes to your backpack shoulder strap. I installed a 3 mm cord, sized shorter than the ""stock cord"" provided and am using a conventional cord lock of a greater quality. DONE!I does work, but you know the old saying, ""you get what you pay for"".

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great Addition for Garmin InReach
by Valued Customer - December 16, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works well with the Garmin InReach. Holds to the backpacking strap securely with little if any movement.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE - BCD/USDT RATE - OUR MINIMUM ORDER IS