Dex Station, Desktop Experience For Galaxy Note8,
 
 
 
 
 
(26)

Samsung Dex Station, Desktop Experience For Galaxy Note8, Galaxy S8, S8 , S9, S9 W/AFC USB-C Wall Charger

Price: BCD12View this productLogin to leave a review
Dex Station, Desktop Experience For Galaxy Note8, Galaxy S8, S8 , S9, S9 W/AFC USB-C Wall Charger
4.69230699539185 26

Product Reviews:

Great concept and easy to use.
by Valued Customer - August 16, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Well I had mixed feelings going into this purchase. Happy with the results. Was aware that not a whole lot of applications are optimized for this sort of thing. But it has a built in work around.(Screen Mirroring) Which makes it possible to use a lot more applications. Elegant design, easy to set up and easy to use. What more can you ask for?

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Easy to use
by Valued Customer - August 15, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Could use more usb inputs

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
great product!
by Valued Customer - August 15, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Just what I need it for my Note 8

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Useful patch for after work hours
by Valued Customer - August 15, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

If you want to do things that are not very demanding (mailing, MS office) and take advantage of app experience on Android, this is a tool for you. I like using it after work hours, and the multitasking experience is very good. There is no easy drag and drop typical for PCs but if you need it for casual time plus light work its great. One advice - if you use Netflix, use the screen mirroring and not the Dex mode - because of the full screen.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Very good
by Valued Customer - August 07, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Perfect product

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
where have you been?
by Valued Customer - July 30, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

so much easier to interact with messaging, web ,etc .even making and recieving calls while surfin. giant screen and keyboard is the way to go. Super easy to set up. multiple open windows with super fast connections.glad i waited for price to dropthis definately replaces home PC.usually never paid mind to suggested purchases at bottom of page but this time i did purchased the spigen extension and glad i did.big thanks to all the reviewers and help they provide on all purchases.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Handy device for a quick workstation
by Valued Customer - July 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

For apps that are compatible, the DeX station works great. One negative though, is that not all apps are compatible. Some won't work at all; others will only work in a small window. The other downside is that if you have a phone case, you'll probably have to remove the case to dock the phone.Despite the two negatives, the dock is a handy tool to setup a quick, personal workstation. It worked well with the USB and bluetooth devices keyboards and mice I tried.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Such a cool device!
by Valued Customer - July 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is awesome! So happy I bought it!Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
So glad I purchased this
by Valued Customer - July 25, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

So glad I purchased this instead of a laptop.Very useful for light use Such as YouTube Facebook etc.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
S9+ Works Great
by Valued Customer - July 25, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works Great, Highly recommend an adapter so you can keep your phone in case and still plug it in. Case and phone will not plug in enough to work. Only phone will fit. Using a Samsung Galaxy S9+

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Doesn't interface well with Netflix
by Valued Customer - July 18, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works vertically only. doesn't work with any case. Netflix doesn't interface well with and only shows up as a very small window on any size tv or monitor so it's better to just use your phone to watch directly.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I love it enough to keep it
by Valued Customer - July 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Turns my phone into a desktop computer. in 'Dex' mode, however, not all apps on your phone will work. There is a setting called 'experimental' that you can activate to help apps work in Dex mode if they don't work in the normal Dex mode. Also, the 'free' version of Microsoft Office products I have on my Note 8 will not work in Dex mode unless you pay for Office through a subscription (or already have a subscription). As time goes on, Samsung will need to improve how apps operate in Dex mode. Hopefully more apps will be compatible and this will eventually become the computer you can carry in your pocket. At this point, however, it needs to mature. I love it enough to keep it, though. It also has USB ports that allow you to connect wireless keyboard, mouse and powered external drive. HDMI interface allows connection to TV or monitor. Ethernet port allows you to plug a wired cable into the nearest switch or wall jack (this will automatically disable wireless and 4G LTE, though).

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Good product
by Valued Customer - July 08, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Good product

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - July 04, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Excellent! The Dex Station is spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best PC converter
by Valued Customer - July 02, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I would recommend this device for whomever wants to increase productivity with their current devices. I use my phone for both business And leisure, this device seamlessly makes it easier to do most of the work you would with the PC without having to lag you'r laptop behind.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
It is what it is.
by Valued Customer - June 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Other than the USB port being a little tight, nothing is wrong with my DeX Station.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - June 28, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

genious accessory for my samsung s8+.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Now the best of all worlds.
by Valued Customer - June 23, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Next best thing since sliced bread.! Now I have my Samsung S9 on a on a large monitor with a full-size keyboard and mouse when I'm at home and am no longer hunching over it straining my eyes and trying to type on the phones small virtual keyboard where you can't touch type.!Now, when I'm away from home or just have a few quick things to do my S9 is perfect as it is.!The way phone technology and apps are progressing today I may never need to use a tablet, laptop or desktop computer again and from what I have read the DEX is a work-in-progress with more things to come and it's inexpensive to me for what it can do. I have been told there are more devices like this out there and I may try to find what other options are available but for now there is no rush and I need to spend more time with it and my new S9 which I just upgraded from an S6 which I am told won't work on the DEX.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This product connects well with your tv monitor and Ethernet
by Valued Customer - June 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This product connects well with your tv monitor and Ethernet while allowing use of it through Bluetooth mouse. You can use your Samsung Note as a tablet.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Samsung enters the future with a whimper
by Valued Customer - June 04, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This review is for this Samsung DeX Station hardware, and not for the DeX technology overall.To summarize, this DeX dock works as-advertised. As a long-time user of the Samsung Smart Dock, originally for my S4, then eventually for my Note 4 (with some minor surgery), I'm quite enamored with the DeX capabilities that this dock enables on my current Note 8. Unfortunately, most of the things I like pertain to DeX, itself, and not with this DeX Station. That said, it has some merits:ADVANTAGES+ CONNECTIVITY - The dock has enough ports, and of enough types, to do the things I plan to do with it. It's currently connected to my KVM switch by USB (keyboard/mouse) and HDMI (video), as well as my network switch (RJ-45). Everything works as-expected, and the desktop is fluid and clear at native resolution on my 2560 x 1440 monitor.+ POWER - It comes with a quality, Samsung fast charger ([email protected], [email protected]) as is typical for other Samsung devices. The package also includes a USB-A to USB-C cable to connect to the charger and dock, respectively.NEUTRALo FORM - I like the fact that this is a drop-in dock, rather than a cable-type connection. At the moment, I use the dock more for screen mirroring than for DeX, and it's nice to have the phone propped-up so I can see it. Although the rubber feet on the base of the dock stick to my desk pretty well, this dock pretty light. That's good for traveling, but makes it quite unstable when tapping the screen with my finger.o FAN - I haven't heard the fan come on yet, but it's nice to know that it's there, especially as the weather (and my non-air-conditioned office) is warming up.DISADVANTAGES- SPEED - The ports are abysmally slow. It's almost unbelievable that a dock that is supposed to transform your phone into a desktop only has 100 Mbps Ethernet and USB 2.0. I was hoping to drop my phone into the DeX station to sync videos, music, etc. but, for practical purposes, it's almost too slow to be used this way. For comparison, I tried transferring a 1.4 GB video from the phone to my computer using a few different connections, with starkly different results:DeX Station Ethernet: 6 MB/sDeX Station USB: 16 MB/sUSB cable directly between computer and phone: 84 MB/sRealistically, I'll have to plug the phone into the computer, or pull > mount the microSD card directly, in order to move large files. These technologies were state-of-the-art 15 years ago, but cripple the modern, flagship phone that I almost had to sell my first born to afford.- CONNECTION TO PHONE - As many reviewers have mentioned, you cannot connect your phone to the dock with most cases. I have a really thin TPU case that I'm actually thinking of replacing because it's so thin that I don't feel it offers enough protection. Even with that, I can't dock the phone unless I remove the case. As with the ancient ports, I don't know how this slipped through the design process.Samsung is definitely on the right track with DeX. Hopefully their DeX Station hardware will catch up with their DeX software at some point. At present, if you're looking for a DeX dock, I'd look at offerings from other vendors that mitigate the considerable limitations of this unit. It's a shame that I can't recommend this genuine Samsung product.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE - BCD/USDT RATE - OUR MINIMUM ORDER IS