SEL28F20 FE 28Mm F By 2-22 Standard-Prime Lens For
 
 
 
 
 
(35)

SONY SEL28F20 FE 28Mm F/2-22 Standard-Prime Lens For Mirrorless Cameras

Price: BCD1093View this productLogin to leave a review
SEL28F20 FE 28Mm F By 2-22 Standard-Prime Lens For Mirrorless Cameras
4.85714197158813 35

Product Reviews:

Good lense
by Valued Customer - August 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Got it for my brother as a bday gift he's into photography that's the one he wanted and after using it for a few months and many pics he said it great

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best all around-lens for the price
by Valued Customer - July 25, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Best all around-lens for the price. It's sticked to my camera since I bought it. Excellent for street and travel photography.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Most underrated full frame lens
by Valued Customer - May 26, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I love, love, love my 28mm f2. Not too many people talk about this lens, I feel mostly because it doesn't have a big white or red ""G"" on the side ;-)This is just what I need - sharp, no issues (such as vignetting), solidly built, has great bokeh, and is reasonably small and light. It pairs well with my Sony a7iii and Zhiyun Crane v2. I would recommend you skip the kit lens and 50mm f1.8 FE lens and go straight to this. I've used it for interviews, promotional videos, events, and more. Love it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Nice budget lens as far as Sony goes
by Valued Customer - May 17, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Nice budget lens as far as Sony goes. Pretty good lens. Performance will depend on which A7 series camera you are using, the newer the better

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Perfect indoor/general purpose lens
by Valued Customer - May 06, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Great travel lens. Super light portable while also being generally really sharp with great color rendition.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Love this lens.
by Valued Customer - March 28, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I have been shooting photography for over 10 years. I recently switched over to Sony and decided to buy this is my first sunny native lands. It is great for video a tad bit slow on the focus but not very noticeable. The quality is excellent and I have been using it for some landscape work. The effort to aperture is fantastic this is a great starting lens if you're just switching over to Sony.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Lightweight and sharp
by Valued Customer - March 04, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Very sharp lens; autofocus is fast and reliable. Decent bokeh if you're close enough to the subject. Makes for a very small and lightweight walkaround package with the A7Rii. Versatile focal length. If I could only have 2 lenses for my Sony it would be the 28/55 combo.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I hate using Canon lenses with fotodiox and Sigma mc-11 adapters
by Valued Customer - February 26, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this lens used from Amazon minus a lens cap. This is now my go to lens for street and architectural photography. I hate using Canon lenses with fotodiox and Sigma mc-11 adapters because you dont get to use some of the sony features such as MF and DMF focus modes. I love to use these modes because you can turn the focus ring and it will zoom in on the subject and allow you to see if its in focus. you can then turn the focus ring while zoomed in to make adjustments. I used this lens to take pics of a wedding with poor lighting and it worked perfectly. I was able to keep the iso low because of it was a F2.0 lens. I dont take this lens off my camera unless I am shooting portraits.take a look at my instagram feed for samples. please note shots were cropped for instagram. instagram: musicman33us

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
So evaluating whether this lens is for you is perhaps best realized by seeing the results for yourself
by Valued Customer - February 12, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, they say. So evaluating whether this lens is for you is perhaps best realized by seeing the results for yourself. My advice, respectfully, is to go to flickr.com or google image search - put in the sel28f20 lens product name, and then scroll through 100+ random images. Do you like? Is this how you want the camera to be focused (instead of reading about the ugliness (or merits) of short DOF). It's that simple. As you likely know (I didn't always, so I'm asking you to indulge me), the smaller the lens number, the wider the image; so this 28 number implies that you will get a very wide shot, but it won't be zoomed in. In fact, it will most likely appear as though your subject is further away than you were taking the photo. Additionally, you can add another lens to the front which makes it super-wide. Excellent for shots of a lot of people standing beside one another. And a fisheye as well, which has a very circular perspective. Fisheye is a bit gimmicky, but kind of cool too. Personally, the sticker shock of many lenses makes this one seem like a deal, relatively speaking. Coupled with a full frame A7xxx model, I think you'll have plenty of reasons to carry your camera around and create some art.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Sharp and fast
by Valued Customer - February 11, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Sharp, small, fast. I purchased this lens for my Sony A6000 to replace the kit lens. The 28m f2 has been my everyday lens ever since. Used mainly for around town and a couple of short road trips. The small size of the lens and the decent f2 aperture has been perfect for my situation. Lowlight performance for indoor and night shots has been pretty good.Bokeh on this lens is very nice. You get very creamy backgrounds with the subjects being tack sharp. Gives a nice professional feel to photographs you don't get with the kit lens.If you're looking for a sub $500 prime lens, the 28 is a very good deal.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
One of the worst landscape lenses (F16 performance) is also a perfect match for stabilized crop cameras for day walkaround
by Valued Customer - January 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

A good travel camera/lens combination should cover: landscape, street, low light (portraits, street, indoors)Tested on an a6500 but some conclusions are valid for Full Frame cameras as well.The main characteristic is the shallow depth of field it shows even at F8 and that makes it unusable for landscapes specially on a Full Frame camera.overview:-A6500 + 28mm is tremendous for day light street photography (as good as it gets).- For landscapes the 28mm F2 provides too much shallow depth of field even at F8.(28mm: 48 degrees for distant mountains like a 46mm on a FF) (21mm 2.8 conversion lens: 60 degrees fov like a 33mm on a ff): t- For low light street and indoors F2 is not large enough.- For portraits with flash it is excelent with some day light.Consequently:- We need 28mm 1.4 APSC (with no purple fringing) and 12-24 F4 APSC (flat and sharp at F8)(and obviusly a 16-70 mark II sharp corner to corner 40lpmm)- or for Full Frame street/indoors setup a 45mm 1.4 FF (sharp, no vigneting and Small, it can be a software corrected one) (to combine with 24-105 or 16-35 f4)=================The full review:=================There are lenses that won't show shallow depth of fields even if you want them to (and pay a thousand dollars, like the Zeiss Sony F4 Zooms). This tiny thing however will blur what is out of focus like crazy. Is that a good thing? It depends:1) outdoors for landscape: 2 stars (48 degrees fov)(mountains at 2000 meters (camera to center) distance of edge subject to center subject: 1500m) lens provides 48 degrees (around) of FOVin a crop camera (not the published 54) so the edges were not too far away, with the 21mm 2.8 add-on it'd be 60 degrees fov.Testing with the 28mm only:F16: What a poor performance this lens provide! you can get comparable detail from a Point and shoot at 3.5 than with this FF lens on an APSC camera at F16: Horrible for landscapes!trying different appertures:F5.6: Extremely sharp in the center ! wow! It resolves the high pixel density of the a6500 in the center! however the edges (that are very sharp too) will be out of focus due to the distance and totally blurred to 30% of the sharpness of a point and shoot (nothing new here, 5.6 is not for landscapes)F8 Extremely sharp in the center (25% less sharp than at f5.6) edges still out of focus but extremely blurred same as 5.6 picture looks flatter due to the center being less sharp.F11: already too much loose in detailthere are some who take landscapes at F2 with this lens and a7rii: Do not! This is absolutely not the lens for it! you may say what you want but when your landscape is not all-in-focus you didn't use the correct tool.veridict: not good for landscapes I had the 21mm 2.8 conversion lens too I Totally and firmly discourage anyone thinking on this lens for landscapes be it on a crop camera or even more on a FF !(I could process raw files and extract plenty of detail and I liked the colors (not a zeiss but I liked the lens color wise), I also saw no chromatic aberration and the obvious distortion you will get can be easily fixed in Phase One (not in other free raw processors like uraw, etc) so you need propietary software with profiles.. free version in my case)2) outdoors for street photography in an a6500: 5 starsfast AF, hood, dust resistant, no vigenting, no purple fringin (unlike sigma), great colors, adaptor to 21mm 2.8 (comically large on the a6500 and so will be on a A7x camera), intense shallow depth of field at any aperture, makes it an absolute match for the a6500; It'll provide the FOV of a 45mm (ish) mounted on a full frame, so five stars!3) Flash portraits: I take very pleaseant portraits with 28mm F2 and a6500 and pop-up flash with bouncing cards at base iso: 5 stars4) No Flash Portraits in indoors: I take good portraits with no flash at iso 2500 but they are too shallow for my taste and too slow of a shutter: 1/20, and higher iso would only increase the noise: 3 stars.5) Does it make it for a perfect travel lens with a6500? No!. Rating: 3 starsThe reason is that the aperture is not large enough so not very good for low light (1.4 is better, but the sigma offering has got a lot of puprple fringing). Also you would loose plenty of photograph oportunities because of the shallow depth of field at F8 and the inability to produce an all-in-focus and sharp photograph at F16, even at close distances F8 doesn't produce a flat picture. I don't know what good options might there be for crop sensor cameras for zoomed in landscapes (maybe 24-70 F4 zeiss? the 16-35 F4 is shallower than the 16-70 F4 apsc and that one is not sharp on the edges I think you'd need rokkinon manuals all over the place for capturing far distance object in a landscape, maybe 14mm ff, 21mm apsc (they still have problems with the right/left edges?), 35mm apsc ) For A7x: landscapes with 16-35 F4, street photography with 1.4 Minolta manual .. if you want AF in a 50mm for full frame and shallow depth of field I think you have to buy the very expensive 50mm 1.4, yet again too large for stree photography!so there it is: there's no sony to do it all for travel, that is: landscapes, street, low light:ARE YOU LISTENING SONY? YOU HAVE NO GOOD TRAVEL CAMERA/LENS COMBINATION FOR TRAVEL WHATSOEVER!The perfect thing would be, either:- an FF A7x (24 MP or less) with a 45mm 1.4, that is no larger than the 55mm 1.8, paired with the existing 24-105 F4 (narrow landscapes and high ISO walkaround) or the 16-35 F4 fo wide landscapes.- or an apsc camera with a 28mm 1.4 apsc (APSC not FF) with perfect AF and no purple fringing (like the 28mm f2) and a 12-24 F4 apsc (APSC not FF)veridict: 28mm F2 plus 21mm 2.8 adapter Returned to Amazon for full refundAdvice:- Do not buy this lens for apsc unless you will use it for day street photography only (and that is a perfect combination)- Do not buy this lens for FF cameras: too much shallow depth of field at F8, unsharp at F16 (FF FOV 75 degrees)

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - January 21, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

sharp lens- good partner for my a7ii- price is good.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
A gem and an affordable fast prime
by Valued Customer - January 13, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Didn't buy from Amazon, but i want to say this is a full-frame gem. Compact, sharp, fast focus, affordable. i use it with my Sony A7R3 and in crop mode on my A6500. Buy it, you won't be sorry. I have more expensive Sony and Sigma glass, but this gem gets as much use on my cameras.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I love this lens
by Valued Customer - December 16, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I love this lens. I use it with A6000 and A7rII. I bought 50mm 1.8 also. I compared the two and i like this one better due to it being wider and sharper. For extra $200 it is worth it for me. I have taken lots of low light pictures with this and it does a great job in getting sharp images. I am very happy with the results. It is small and compact so if you are walking around with it, it is not prominent to be noticed as big DSLR's. I highly recommend if you are looking for compact prime at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - October 30, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

this is a go to lens for me. t has been way more than i expected!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - October 12, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Love it. Superior to Stock Lens

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great value for a wide angle lens
by Valued Customer - October 11, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is a great value lens for landscape photography for the Sony alpha series of mirrorless cameras. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to build out a collection of lenses.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Excellent lens for a stabilizer.
by Valued Customer - September 26, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I'm using this lens on my Sony a6500 and it's really sharp, I wasn't expecting that quality on this lens.On the Sony's APS-C sensor this lens is the equivalent of a 42mm.I wanted this one for a Zhiyun Crane, because it was light and a decent mm

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Pretty.
by Valued Customer - September 23, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I like this focal length as it works for landscape wide angle and closer in subjects as well. I have shot a few hundred pics with it now, attached is one of the very first using the 28mm on the a7ii body. No filter or post. No downsides to the lens, maybe lacks the magic of zeiss or maybe not, but overall a great option for the Sony FE shooter and one of the most affordable. I'm entirely happy with it. I will eventually put it up against the zeiss 24-70 and see if it holds its own as a prime, which is the only other way I see to go from here. Meanshile it's a keeper for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I dig it
by Valued Customer - September 17, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Run this on my Sony A6500 and Zhiyun Crane stabilizer. With this setup the auto-focus finds faces very easily. Very handy piece of kit.Very sharp lens with minimal lens flairs, etc. I prefer lens flares for aesthetic purposes, but the quality is impressive.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE - BCD/USDT RATE - OUR MINIMUM ORDER IS