Starsense Automatic Alignment Telescope Accessory,
 
 
 
 
 
(26)

Celestron Starsense Automatic Alignment Telescope Accessory, Black (94005)

Price: BCD512View this productLogin to leave a review
Starsense Automatic Alignment Telescope Accessory, Black (94005)
4.65384578704834 26

Product Reviews:

It's so easy now to align my scope
by Valued Customer - July 27, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

How did I live without it??? It's so easy now to align my scope! :) ok but first I need to say that my first try didn't work, the software needed to be updated on the hand control. I had to call celestron and they guided me through the installation. First a lady told me to return it, but I had done my research and I knew it was probably an update that was causing the problem. Later I called back and a gentlemen walked me though the steps, I had to download a zipfile to download a program (does not work on a mac) needs to be a windows computer. After I downloaded the software I had to download the driver for the cable, if not the program wont recognize the device. The link for the driver was also provided by celestron. Once I did that, it updated and now it works amazing! So if you are thinking about making your like easy just spend the money because it's worth it, and yes it's a hassle that you need to do an update but I would do it all over again, because I hate the 3 star alignment haha. Wishing you dark skies! :)

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Super product! Well done Celestron!
by Valued Customer - May 29, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Outstanding product - works exactly as described. Need to follow initial directions and on the first try, got me within a couple of degrees of desired objects.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
50/50 chance of this puppy working.
by Valued Customer - May 22, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

When it works, it's good. But usually the telescope starts to move to all sorts of places BELOW the horizon to figure it out. I've taken it out four times and two times it worked well enough to use. Forget about using the apps for GPS location, and entering it into the machine manually is a total pain and if you want to take the telescope elsewhere that becomes a problem. I'm NOT a fan of using this, so I manually reset it and will be using my iPad for the GPS and hopefully that will work to actually set my time and location and find the stars accurately. I mean, it couldn't find Sirius and when I tried to refine it, that worked but then when I put in Betelgeuse and Aldebaran, it slewed the telescope north and then below the horizon (?!?!).I read that you may need to factory reset it to get it to work, and the reviews on here aren't stellar (pun intended) so if you have the money and the time, get it. If not, maybe there's another product out there that works better. For now, it's off the scope.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - May 19, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Very nice product

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Works.
by Valued Customer - May 10, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works as it should. Saves me the hassle of alignment.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Make Astronomy FUN Againif you have a Celestron.
by Valued Customer - April 14, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Simply the best thing I got for my Celestron 8SE. Done right, it put everything in the FOV (Field of View) with an 8mm eyepiece. Make sure you update the firmware, as you should on all devices. Made astronomy fun on my second trip out!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
I don't think I could be happier with this purchase
by Valued Customer - April 01, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I don't think I could be happier with this purchase. It has saved my knees all kinds of pain when it comes to my star and polar alignments. It has significantly cut down on the time it takes me to get my alignment and I'm now getting much better polar alignments which is very important for my astrophotography compared to stock Nextstar hand controller that came with my telescope.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Poor quality control
by Valued Customer - March 26, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

My hand controller has a mini usb connector while the cable included is a micro usb. I think the hand controller is an early version as they don't use mini usb anymore. What gives, Celestron?

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Real alignment time saver and accurate
by Valued Customer - March 21, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I shall keep this brief as others have written detailed positive reviews which I largely endorse. I obtained last night excellent alignment results from my StarSense with my Celestron CGEM And 8"" OTA in an unfavourable sky which was more then 60% clouded over in a ribbed pattern. It would have been a nightmare doing an alignment manually - spotting a bright star in a clear slot between clouds, identifying it hurriedly before it disappeared, then following manual alignment procedure - and doing this 3 or 4 times on widely spaced stars. So I consider it very impressive that the StarSense performed so well in these conditions. It seemed to seek out the clear areas of sky. Of course, in the end it was a poor viewing night! I also agree on the importance of updating the firmware and software, which however, is not that straightforward. The cumbersome updating procedure, in my case with RS232 serial cable plus USBs, and clumsy updating management software is the main detraction from this unit, the less technically minded should seek help.In conclusion, a real time saver in operation, excellent accuracy, good value and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
but much easier to use than the time consuming and super annoying 3 star alignment
by Valued Customer - March 10, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Expensive, but much easier to use than the time consuming and super annoying 3 star alignment. Makes the Celestron 8SE I have ready to use in minutes. Although it works well, I'd like to see the upgrade to use this as a camera as well. We'll see if that's ever implemented by Celestron. Supposedly it's in the works.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Outstanding product, and a great time saver!
by Valued Customer - March 05, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Outstanding addition to my CPC9.25. Makes setting up for a quick backyard observing session much quickersimply level the mount, mount the scope, turn it on And tell it to align. After the initial calibration to my scope, alignment is literally a hands-off affair that on takes about 3 minutes. It will make my life much easier when setting up for public viewing nights. My only slight complaint is the fact that my old hand controller has a slightly different shape than the new one and thus the telescope's controller bracket doesn't fit the new one. I will be checkinywith Celestron to see if a new bracket is available. No big deal.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
It works. It really works!
by Valued Customer - February 24, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Arrived in pristine condition and it worked perfectly! I was up and running first time in 12 minutes. I couldn't be happier at its simplicity and functionality. Make alignment easy and saves time.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Would buy again!
by Valued Customer - February 17, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Purchased for a gift, HE LOVES IT!

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Accurate Auto-alignment Releases the Power of a GOTO telescope
by Valued Customer - January 21, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Aligning a Celestron GOTO telescope ""by hand"" is a time-consuming drag, and difficult to do in light-polluted environments like the one I live in. The StarSense auto-aligner turns that task into a 2-3 minute hands-off experience that requires minimal set-up by the user.I do have one big caveat. When I attempted my first alignment, it failed miserably, and the software in StarSense had altered the latitude of my location (which I had previously typed in as part of the set-up). Upon going to Celestron Support, I found out that I needed to upgrade the firmware for the StarSense. It turned out that the firmware in the one I bought from Amazon was dated 2014, and there had been six subsequent upgrades published by Celestron. Fortunately, I know enough about computers so that the task of upgrading the firmware was not too difficult. After that the auto-alignment performed very well. That Celestron took the trouble to do six upgrades in four years is a tribute to their support team, but that does seem like a lot of upgrades.Now that the power of the GOTO feature of my telescope has been enhanced by fast and accurate auto-alignment, I expect I will be using my telescope a lot more than I have been.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This little thing is amazing. Easy to set up and align with the
by Valued Customer - December 18, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This little thing is amazing. Easy to set up and align with the Celestron Skyportal app. I was not fond of the StarSense Handcontrol though(does not like the cold condition of Norway) Fits nicely on my Skywatcher Equinox 120.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Poduct review
by Valued Customer - December 17, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Works as advertised. Controller in kit is better than standard mount version. Saves time setting up telescope when I dont have alot of time and/or dont want to lug a laptop around to take pictures in remote areas.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This is one of the best additions to my equipment list in a long time
by Valued Customer - December 10, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is one of the best additions to my equipment list in a long time. I am using it on a CGX mount. My visible sky is restricted by trees to west and a building to the north. But after I do a User Auto Align, Polar Align, finally another User Auto Align, my goto pointing accuracy is within few arc minutes anywhere in the sky. My current interest is NEO's and they are always near the center of a 30' x 15' field of view. My only Cons are I haven't been able to save my alignment so I can switch the StarSense from one scope to another. And sometimes the software does something wacky like change the slew rate. But overall, I highly recommend the StarSense AutoAlign.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Five Stars
by Valued Customer - December 08, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

this device is great

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Tremendous time saver!
by Valued Customer - November 21, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This lil beauty performs plate solving in-camera to get your scope aligned VERY quickly. Cuts my polar alignment time from 45+ minutes to 5 minutes for visual, or 10 minutes for astrophotography.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
This is a great technology, but it suffers from insufficient troubleshooting documentation
by Valued Customer - October 25, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is a great technology. I attached it to a Celestron 9.25"" NexStar Evolution. It works very well.However, Celestron WiFi doesn't.When I tried to set up StarSense using Celestron WiFi and the SkyPortal app on iPhone (not iPad), the StarSense alignment process would align, then lose connectivity, then need to be aligned, then lose connectivity, then freeze. I have been reading several online forums for amateur astronomy, and the Celestron WiFi combined with the SkyPortal app freezing the phone is a common problem.Some users have wireless providers that use ""smart"" WiFi apps to bounce back and forth between WiFi and Cellular Data, shutting off WiFi on disconnect, and thereby ""improving"" battery life. These apps appear to conflict with SkyPortal and Celestron WiFi. I have no such app, but I did have tethering enabled, and this probably does pretty much the same thing to SkyPortal as the smart WiFi apps. I'll give it a try again with tethering disabled, but after 5 weekends of trying to get Celestron WiFi to work with SkyPortal (I also tried with SkySafari 5 Pro, where I can save and restore all kinds of settings, but SkySafari 5 Pro is just as bad as SkyPortal with respect to losing connectivity and freezing) I am pretty fed up with SkyPortal. None of this compatibility information is available from the Sky Safari folks, who are contracted by Celestron, nor is it available from Celestron. You have to go out and dig it up yourself. Celestron should have a better knowledge base, along with better unit testing and quality assurance. I know they aren't software developers, and they don't charge for SkyPortal, but I also can't charge them for all of the time I spent trying to get SkyPortal to work with StarSense. Take a lesson from Apple: to sell your hardware, you need easy-to-use software that actually works.I have found the StarSense hand controller much easier to use than SkyPortal. StarSense will do alignment provided it can find enough stars. I have never tried to align on solar system objects, and I don't even know if that is possible with StarSense. You will still need to calibrate StarSense after you've aligned it, which essentially tells StarSense how misaligned the camera is with respect to the telescope aperture. In theory, you should be able to remove the camera from the telescope and replace it without recalibration. I have never been able to affix the camera to the telescope so that recalibration can be skipped. It only takes a few seconds, but afterward, you have to align again. With the hand set, this is about a 5 minute process: align, calibrate, align. With the SkyPortal app, you may never complete this process.If StarSense can't find enough stars, use the NexStar controller together with geolocation information, sky maps, and a star finder. I know you can solar system align NexStar, because I do that in my front and back yard several nights a month using the moon or a planet, and I can even align on the sun when I have a white light solar filter attached. StarSense just gets lost in my light polluted neighborhood, with a very busy airport located 6 miles to the south putting all kinds of lights in the evening sky.I'm not sure I would recommend this item for beginning astronomers. For one thing, it costs about as much as a kid's (really nice) starter scope. For another, learning how to read and use a sky chart - and compass - is not a bad thing. It's also a good thing to know how to align your telescope to a finder scope, and how to use the finder scope to point at objects in the sky. Since StarSense gets the information it needs directly from the telescope hardware, you also don't need to know what kind of mount you have, which means that you don't know all that you can do with your telescope. Lastly, if something doesn't go right in the connection, alignment, and calibration of StarSense, you should be able to swear very loudly, remove the StarSense camera and controller, attach the NexStar controller, cycle power on the scope, and then align it yourself.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE - BCD/USDT RATE - OUR MINIMUM ORDER IS