Voice GPS
 
 
 
 
 
(62)

GOLFBUDDY Voice GPS

Price: BCD338View this productLogin to leave a review
Voice GPS
4.51612901687622 62

Product Reviews:

AWESOME product and convenience
by Valued Customer - June 25, 2012
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I've been in the market for a golf GPS or rangefinder and have been undecided for a long time. The laser rangefinders are definitely appealing, but the form factor and having to dig a large item out of your bag when you need to get the pin distance was a major drawback. I also looked at a bunch of the new GPS systems, but many of them almost had too many functions and features - enough that I knew I would be distracted during my golf round. Really, all I want is a good, reliable, accurate distance to the pin. This product is it.I bought this a week ago on Amazon and have tested it at several golf courses - a few I was unfamiliar with and my home course where I am already dialed into the distances from playing the course several hundred times. This item is very accurate. After I bought it, I was obsessively checking the distance and comparing it with markings on the course. It always matched the plaques or sprinkler head covers of all three courses I ran this on. On one round, I was with someone using a laser and on another round I was with someone using a SkyCaddie. This item matched both each time.But the biggest plus to this product is the form factor. You can easily clip this onto the side of your hat or your belt and forget it is there. Need the distance to the pin - simple: press the button and it tells you. Need the distance to the front or back of the green - press the button again for three seconds and it tells you. It is very easy to hear, yet is quiet enough that it will not disturb your playing partners - in fact when the volume is turned down halfway, I doubt a playing partner five feet from you could hear it at all. If you don't want the voice, you can just peek down at your belt and see the distance in big numbers on the display, which update in real-time as you walk.This item has two other features. One is where it will show you the actual shape of the green, and rotates that shape depending on your approach angle. I never really used this, because the graphical interface is simplistic, and I really only needed the distance to the pin. The second feature is very nice - it will record the distance between any two points. So say you want to know how far you hit your six-iron. You press a small button on the side, then the main button. Then you hit the ball and walk to it. When you get there, you press the main button again and it will tell you how far you hit the ball. I suppose you could just as easily look down before and after you hit and then do a little math, but I still found this feature to be a big bonus. I am already pretty dialed into my club distances, but if you are not exactly sure how far you are hitting each club, this was a nice feature to have.The first round I played with it was a five-hour round, and I obsessively hit the button as I played to test it out. I still had half the battery life left, so I believe this could easily last two full rounds, especially since under normal conditions I wouldn't be activating it every single time I saw a yardage marker for comparison.This product is small, the clip is strong so you won't lose it, and it just plain works with an unobtrusive form factor that makes it a huge bonus. The voice is a computer-sounding female voice not unlike Siri on an iPhone.I was not sure this would be the solution I was looking for - but now I am certain that every GPS/rangefinder company will be copying this product in the next 6-9 months. It is really great. I love it.PS - when you get it, it comes with a micro-USB cord. You should go to the GolfBuddy website and make sure you have downloaded the latest firmware version. Mine needed an update, but installing it took only a few minutes and clicks on my Mac.UPDATE: NOVEMBER 2015 - Well, I have played about 300 rounds with the Golf Buddy, and it finally died. But to update my old review, I can say that I played with this device all over the United States and the distances were always accurate. I will be replacing this with the new version, which shows front/back/center on the screen without having to cycle through - a great improvement.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Decent for measuring distance to greens
by Valued Customer - May 09, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this for two functions: 1) to measure distance to green, and 2) to measure shot distance. It is working perfectly for function one. As to function two, it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. The problem appears to be that the same button combination works to either measure shot distance or tell and set the time. Sometimes, randomly, the unit will do nothing but tell the time over and over when I'm trying to measure distance. I got online and read through the instructions, but they are no help. I'm still pretty happy with the main function of this unit, and with how small and compact it is. I like the voice function, because sometimes you cant see the display on these little units in the sun. But whoever programmed the unit with two separate functions for one set of instructions is an idiot.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Best Gift Ever
by Valued Customer - July 25, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I must thank Amazon for such as easy way to search for gifts for golf lovers. I wanted to surprise my dad with a Father's Day gift and he is VERY difficult to surprise and to shop for as he typically buys things for himself. Well, I didn't know exactly what this was but after reading all the great reviews (thank you reviewers!), I committed to this purchase. Well let me say, that my dad didn't quite know what it was when he opened the gift but I wouldn't tell him. As he continued reading, he asked if this was ""one of those gadgets that tells you how far the green is"" and I said yes. He was beside himself. He had seen his friends use older versions, and now he had the best and newest on the market. To this day, this gift will go down in history as the ""Best Gift I Ever Bought Him"". Thank you, Reviewers and Amazon! He loves it, uses it every time he golfs and always makes sure it's charged and ready to go for golf days.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Easy and quick yardage to middle, not so much measuring shot length
by Valued Customer - December 06, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

For the most part, I like this and didn't have any real trouble until my last round (I've had it for five).In some cases, I may be to blame as I either was pushing the wrong button or combination of buttons, so I just figured, that's okay, I'll eventually get the combinations down to memory and not have to look them up in the (micro-type instructions) booklet.However, the last round, clear and cool day, the device consistently refused to set itself to the next hole as it surprisingly did automatically the first few rounds. I read the instructions to select a hole and when it worked, it worked and I could change to the hole I was on. Unfortunately, sometimes it just seemed to freeze, and I had to go old school on distances otherwise I would hold up the group.To be honest, all I really want to know is distance to the center and 95% of the time that's good enough and it's accurate. Some times, for curiosity, fun or to learn the distances on my new clubs, I set it to measure that.But once arrived at the ball, getting it to measure the next shot has proven to be challenging at best. When you get your initial measurement, by clicking the P button, your good. Now if you want to get the next shot, uh, not so much. It wants to keep measuring from the start. I am yet to figure out how to reset and measure from the new spot.I think it eventually gives up when even it figures I did not hit a shot 675 yards, as it will at some point allow me to measure again.I haven't a clue what the green L or green R information is for.Pro: quick yardage to center, viewable and audible.Con: not as intuitive as one would hope, seems to lock up

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Works Well for Distance to Center of Green
by Valued Customer - March 21, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

For the price, this works fairly well. The Golf Buddy gives the distance to the center of the green. So the distance to the actual stick and cup can be much different. Does not give any other distances, such as to a creek or other object such as laser optics which are much more expensive. Good for approximate distance to the flag. The battery charges up in less than an hour and I have no problems running out of battery for any 18 hole course.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
GolfBuddy Voice works.
by Valued Customer - May 09, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is my experience so far: Received the golfbuddy and charged it to capacity (took about one hour). Then hooked it up to the computer with the included USB cord and tried to download the updated software. I have Windows 8 and I got an error message. Called the 888 number for their tech services and got a very helpful guy who Emailed me instructions and drivers to download. That worked well and I got the updated course information for the whole USA downloaded and processed in a relatively short time. Next day I went out to play on my home course and it found the course within seconds and put me on the first tee box with an accurate distance to the pin in the center of the green. I clipped the golfbuddy to my hat visor and it rode there securely for the whole round. I only used the distance to the center of the green because that is close enough for me. But it is easy enough to get the distance to the front or back of the green. While playing, I stood on a sprinkler cover that was marked 75 yards and my golfbuddy announced that it was 75 yards to the center of the green. I stopped my cart at the 150 maker and my golfbuddy said 154. This may have been because I was rolling to a stop while I pressed the button. In general, this thing helped me improve my club choice and I was on the green in regulation more times than usual. I recommend this GolfBuddy Voice GPS Rangefinder.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great Little Device, a touch off in the numbers
by Valued Customer - August 19, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

First let me say I have owned (3) different Skycaddie's and used(2) different laser units. The Laser units are not for me at all, tree in way forget it, shaky hand no chance, flag with no reflectors forget about it. Skycaddie was a good device, the only problem was the fees. Fees for states, fees for country, fees for special features.So when I saw this little beauty on Amazon for a low price, what the heck. It is indeed small and can be worn with a watch strap. ( a little big) but it works. I just clip to my belt and press the button. Its loud enough for me to hear and when my playing partners want yardage I just up the volume. The buttons can be tricky for the distance feature or clock time but that's a learning curve. Most of the people I play with are just amazed at the little cube. It's easy and somewhat accurate. Now for the off in the numbers. I have compared this with my Skycaddie SGX and another laser. The Golf Bubby is off by about 4 yards longer. Why, I don't know. Does it matter to me, NO. I'm not a professional golfer I play for fun and just need a yardage to get me on the green. Once I know center I can make adjustments for front or back and the little cube can tell me front distance and back distance if I need the depth. There is no distance to dog legs or traps or layups, which could come in handy on some strange courses, but for size convenience and ease of use this is the right fit for me. I can go old school and use my eye to gauge a trap in the fairway if needed.It starts up quick, finds my course fast and has no problem starting hole #1 at my home course with three 9's. The only thing that can mess up the unit is a stray drive in another fairway. The cube thinks I moved to that hole and I have to set her straight. No problem though after a couple of buttons it asks if I want to return to the last recognized hole. Nice that it remembers but I don't get why it would change from hole 3 to hole 6. All in all you can't go wrong for the price and no fees ever.Oh yeah and customer service was excellent. I had an issue with the unit not turning off. It was gone for 5 days total door to door for the repair at no charge. Nice people to deal with great communication on status of repair. If you want a nice yardage unit at a low price that talks, this is it. I also understand the new model gives you front, center and back of green on the screen at the same time instead of just one number.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Battery connector issue needs to be addressed
by Valued Customer - May 28, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I got the unit in not working condition and had to fix it myself since I had a round just next day (I paid for 1 day shipping for that and I did not want to waste the opportunity).After reading reviews, I understood my unit might have the same battery connector issue. On plugging the cable it just flashes up once and show the battery icon with X inside it meaning the battery is dead. According to many reviews, it would be just a connector problem. I used the screw driver to take out the one screw and opened up the face cover - it was pretty straight forward. I carefully kept the button covers and took off the board and the battery attached to it out of the casing. After making sure the battery connector is in place, I tested by plugging in to USB. Now it flashes on repeatedly indicating it's charging.I put everything back and kept the screen dust free as much as possible and screwed back in. And it worked like a charm for my first rounding. This is best used around the cap so the voice can be heard in my opinion. Also measuring the club distance was pretty handy feature. Even when it was in the middle of measuring the distance, the main button responded for the real time distance query. Pretty well written piece of software.Highly recommended and for those who see the dead battery icon, just try fix yourself. It's not that hard. One star off due to the manufacturing quality issue - I would give 5 without hesitation if I didn't have that issue.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Tech support is terrible
by Valued Customer - October 12, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Unit just has basic functions but that's all I need - however, if there's a problem, tech support is terrible - they want $35 just to be connected to a technician and there is no indication what happens if the tech can't resolve your problem - i.e., you may be out $35 and still have no answers.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Wow, what a great product
by Valued Customer - March 31, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I have used this for a little over a year now and still love every minute of it. Everyone I know went to buy one as soon as they saw me using it. Before this unit, I have used laser range finder and other more expansive GPS with graphic. This one is by far the best. The unit is fast and gives me the yardage with absolute no delay. The best thing is it says the yardage out loud. I don't need to take my glasses off to read the range finder or graphical type GPS. It even tells me how far I shoot with a touch of a button.The only thing this doesn't do is to tell me how far I have to carry a canyon or to certain objects on the course. For that I do use the laser range finder to do the job. However, those are rare cases where I happen to play on a course that I never played before. In my home course, I only use this guy.I really wish everyone uses this unit to speed up play. I have played with guys that uses range finder and graphical GPS system and they take much longer time to play.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great product
by Valued Customer - November 18, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Very competitive price. Easy to set up. Easy to use. I really like the ""3 step"" 1 clip it on the hat, 2 punch the audio button, and 3 hit the shot capability. The audio also is useful when your cart buddy asks for the distance. With the push of one button, you can customize it to give you just the distance to the front edge, which is just about all you need to know to really improve your approach shots. 90% of all golfer aren't good enough to need all the extra information on a $300 range finder. All it does is waste time. I actually played one time (""one time"" is the operative phrase) with a guy that lengthened the round by 30 minutes with all his ""I have this really expensive"" range finder interludes. He lost all the Nassaus. 90% of golfer are not good enough to need much more data. It would be much wiser to spend the other $200 on 4 lessons.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
(62) Giving Technology a Try!
by Valued Customer - November 30, 2016
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

My wife and about 5 other people in my golf league have this, so I eventually asked for one for my recent birthday. My wife gave it to me. Haven't tried it, because of the bad/cold/wet weather this time of the year. But sure I will be completely pleased with the product - as all of them have been. I've always played without a device, as playing football a long time I've always been pretty accurate with distances. But now, I should be more accurate - and make my score improve. I EXPECT it. Looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Just what I needed
by Valued Customer - March 19, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I struggled with the decision of laser/optical rangefinder or gps. Decided that gps was good enough for my game. Unit had to come with free updates and be simple. This one fits the bill perfectly. I need to carry the pocketcard of instructions for a few rounds but then I should have it all commited to memory. Keeping it charged before a round and not forgetting to grab it is the hardest thing. I can charge it on the way to the course in the car, but usually keep it near my car keys so I remember to plug it in at home.I find that it is usually dead on with the distance markers on most courses. You do want to learn how to select hole number in case you wonder into the trees between fairways. It may change holes on you.It's simple to do.I did manage to press some combination of buttons and flip the display but an email to GolfBuddy got me straight again (actually it flipped back over when I turned it on, but could flip it at will for your clipped orientation. I like to clip it on my pants pocket and the display would be upside down without this feature.) Many of my friends are wanting their own now.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
EXCELLENT. WORKS WELL
by Valued Customer - September 24, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT. WORKS WELL. HAVE COMPARED DISTANCES WITH OTHER PLAYERS WITH OTHER DEVICES AND DISTANCES ARE VERY COMPARABLE, USUALLY WITHING FIVE YARDS. HAD A PROBLEM WHITIN THE FIRST COUPLE OF MONTHS, CONTACTED GOLF BUDDY, SENT IT BACK ANDS RECIEVED IT BACK QUICKLY. HAS WORKED FINE NOW FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS. THE ONLY FEATURE I WISH IT HAD WAS DISTANCE TO TRAPS/ HAZARDS BUT FOR THE PRICE IT IS A GOOD DEAL./

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Good Distance Finder but Older Model
by Valued Customer - September 15, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

This is a great product for measuring distance to the green. It is easily operated and needs little updating or downloading of course information as it has stored 50,000 courses on it. However, this is one of the first generation models. I am not sure what the next 3 models which are newer (voice +, vt3 or vs4) can offer but I noticed this when I was at the Pro Shop of my Club and saw the newer generation and the pro told me the one I had and just bought the day before was the first model they came out with. With that being said it was $50 cheaper than the newer models.Positive -Easy to use, turn on and use- bright, lighted display-volume controlNegative - only displays to the center and to get the front and the back you must hold down the button- does not assist with lay up shots- one of the 1st generation modelsUPDATE: I bought the newer model vs4 and it displays the front middle and back on the screen without having to hold the button down. I do prefer this feature on the newer one as it takes less time and is easier to get your distances. The newer one also snaps into a cradle which becomes the belt clip as opposed to this one which has the belt clip attached directly to the unit. Even thought I have not had the newer one fall out of the cradle, I do believe the older models clip style is more secure. The older one also comes with a plastic cover which in direct light was sometimes difficult to read but did provide protection and the newer model does not have any kind of protective cover.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Buy One -Best GPS Worth the Money
by Valued Customer - October 27, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I love this gadget. I bought it after a golf trip to Florida and one of the guys I was playing with had it. Very handy when the course only has the standard 200/150/100 markers in the fairway and you are left or right of fairway. Saves a lot of time from stepping off distances. I mount this on my cap just behind my left ear and push the button to hear the distance. Center distance is all I need but it will give front/back with sequence of button pushes. It sounds loud in my ear but my friends say they cant hear it. Amazing how all of a sudden they want me to give them distances instead of using their iPhone apps. They only thing that I am slightly disappointed in is that it has to be recharged after every round of 18. I tried using two days in a row and after Hole #34 the battery died. Good news is that it warned me 3 holes prior that the battery was low. I highly recommend this GPS as there are no courses needed to be downloaded, automatically finds your course and away you go. Small, compact and accurate, it can be mounted anywhere for convenience and for $89 it is the best golf GPS value out there.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
then this little gal performs wonderfully. Gave the exact distances as the more expensive
by Valued Customer - December 11, 2015
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

If you're not concerned about much else than the front, middle, and back yardage, then this little gal performs wonderfully. Gave the exact distances as the more expensive GPS my golf pal was using. Found the course quickly, and if playing a shotgun where you start on another hole other than #1, it knows exactly where you're at. It tells you what hole your on. I love it, but would advise not to clip it on your belt or pocket. You could lose it. Don't put it in your pocket, it may get shut off. Clip it on your golf bag if walking, or keep it in your cart if riding. On the hat visor? It's small, but for me, that's not a good option either.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Great product; Some Flaws
by Valued Customer - March 23, 2013
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I purchased it at the end of last fall at a price 20% cheaper than it is in March 2013. So watch for seasonality.It works as you would expect, syncing right up with the course when you turn it on in the parking lot. Distances are pretty good - on par with everything except laser (and I've seen a lot of misshot lasers over the years).I love the form factor - I can just clip it to my pullcart or hat. I only use it 2-3 times per round though its really easy to give distances to my partners so I give them a few too.The only real problem is that it likes to jump between holes. When I'm shooting from another fairway (or the area in between holes) is exactly when I need an accurate distance (140 or 180yds?). If you're on the second hole, it shouldn't jump to hole #6 without a lot of button pressing. A laser is better, but bulky, a pain to shoot, often stolen, etc. Hard to beat for the price if you don't need absolute precision.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Loved it right up to losing it ;(
by Valued Customer - June 21, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

I bought this for my trip to LA to play with my friend, two very hard courses. On the first day, I realized on the first tee it was still in my luggage at the hotel. The second day we played the IKE at Industry Hills, CA. Unbelievable course. It was difficult spreading the clip to attach it to my left pocket so I was confirdent about having it there ,and I finally got it on. Boy I loved using it. Even though the carts have GPS, sometimes you are cart path only and presto check my Golf Buddy. On the 12th hole I went to check it! GONE! It had fallen off never to be seen again ;(Maybe the Golf Gods will see fit to send me another :) I loved it and recommend it hightly. Easy to read, very accurate, PUT IT IN YOUR POCKET :)

Was this review helpful to you? yes no
Buy it.. you won't be sorry..
by Valued Customer - July 16, 2018
 
 
 
 
 
Verified Purchase

Just got this in and used it for the 1st time this weekend. This was pretty spot on to the green center for the entire round. Which is all I was looking for. For less than a 3rd of some of the laser hand held units.. this is a steal. No need to select a course.. no need to select a city.. Just show up.. power on and play. It seems one of the biggest complaints I have ever heard while golfing is a courses lack of yardage markers. It happens all the time. I simply got to my ball.. pressed the button (it was clipped to my hat) and in less than a second was told how far to the green center. I highly recommend this. Very price friendly and works as advertised.

Was this review helpful to you? yes no

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE - BCD/USDT RATE - OUR MINIMUM ORDER IS